Print This Page

The Planets

The Planets
Planetary information is being updated constantly as new discoveries are made. For the latest information, check a primary source -- the NASA planet pages at , or

The solar system can be divided into the inner and outer planets. The inner planets are, in order, Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. The distances to from the sun to these planets is as follows:

Mercury- 0.39 AU
Venus - 0.72 AU
Earth - 1.0 AU (this is the definition of AU!)
Mars - 15.25 AU


The outer solar system consists of the four Gas Giants - Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, and the small icy dwarf planet Pluto. their distances from the sun are listed below.

Jupiter - 5.2 AU
Saturn - 9.5 AU
Uranus - 19.2 AU
Neptune - 30 AU
Pluto - 30 - 48 AU (semi-major axis of 40 AU)

Was this page helpful?*-000

0: 1: 2: 3: 4: 5: